Skip to Content

Published on November 02, 2005

Mooney Elected KishHealth System Board Chair

November 02, 2005

Michael N. Mooney has been elected chair of the KishHealth System Board of Directors and Michael A. Cullen and James Hawkins, DO, have joined the board as new members.

Mooney, president of Mike Mooney Chevrolet-Cadillac Inc. of DeKalb and four other General Motors and Ford dealerships in East Central Illinois, has served on the health system board since 1994. Prior to returning to his family auto business, he was a certified public accountant with Deloitte & Touche.

He succeeds Dewey R. Yaeger, who was KishHealth System Board chair from 2002-2004.  Yaeger is remaining on the board.

Cullen, president and CEO of The National Bank and Trust Company of Sycamore, is succeeding Jeanette Heinisch, who had been on the board for 14 years. She has since been appointed to the Kishwaukee Health Foundation Board.
Dr. Hawkins, an obstetrician and gynecologist on the Valley West Community Hospital medical staff, is succeeding Dr. J. Trevino.

Mooney, with roots in two communities, is treasurer and finance chair of the Paris (IL) Community Hospital Board; vice chair of the Illinois Dealers Health Insurance Trust; a member of the Kishwaukee College Foundation Board; and an active member of the Kishwaukee Kiwanis Club and the Notre Dame University Sorin Society.

He also is a past board member of the DeKalb Chamber of Commerce and MainStreet/DeKalb; past chair of the St. Mary Pastoral Council; and a former Edgar County Board member.

Mooney is a graduate of  the University of Notre Dame and has a master’s in business administration from Northwestern University. He and wife, Denise Rode, have one daughter and live in DeKalb.

Other appointed members of the KishHealth System Board of Directors are Anita Zurbrugg, Mary Lynn McArtor, Gerald Bemis, Terrence M. Duffy; Ron Feldmann, MD; Stan Free, Donald E. Kieso, Michael D. Larson, Michael Thornton, MD;  Martin P Brauweiler, MD;  Diane Shroyer and Kathy Butler.

KishHealth System board members serve without compensation and oversee the operation of  Kishwaukee Community Hospital, DeKalb; Valley West Community Hospital, Sandwich; Hauser-Ross Eye Institute & Surgicenter and Unlimited Performance Rehab and Sports Medicine, Sycamore; DeKalb County  Hospice, Kishwaukee Health Foundation, Kishwaukee Cancer Care Center, Illinois Regional Cancer Center, Kishwaukee Corporate Health, DeKalb Magnetic Resonance Center, DeKalb; Kishwaukee healthcare in Hampshire and Elburn, and Kishwaukee healthcare Pharmacy in Hampshire. Kevin Poorten is president and chief executive officer of the health system.

Footer Curve