Skip to Content

Published on June 16, 2006

KCH Auxiliary Scholarships Awarded

June 16, 2006

Tiffany Fruth

Tiffany Fruth, 2006 recipient of
the Virginia Larsen Scholarship.

The Kishwaukee Community Hospital Auxiliary has awarded $30,000 in scholarships to area college students pursuing healthcare careers.

Tiffany Fruth is the recipient the Virginia Larsen Scholarship. Fruth is pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Nursing at Northern Illinois University. Larsen, of Sycamore, a longtime KCH volunteer, is past president of the KCH Auxiliary and a former registered nurse. She has established the annual scholarship to recognize a student who not only demonstrates strong scholastic achievement but also a desire to be compassionate and caring toward patients.

The Auxiliary's general healthcare scholarships are awarded to DeKalb County residents and are renewable. This year's recipients are Jessica Adkins, Kishwaukee College (KC), Radiological Technology; Karen Altepeter, KC, Radiological Technology; Stephanie Anda, Aurora University, Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN); Melissa Anderson, Northern Illinois University (NIU), BSN; Kathleen Benson, KC, Radiological Technology; Leah Brown, NIU, Dietician; Laurie Chapmanm, KC, RN; Rebecca Doty, KC, RN.

The 2006 KCH Auxiliary Scholarship Winners stand together at the annual KCH Auxiliary Luncheon.

The 2006 KCH Auxiliary
Scholarship Winners stand
together at the annual KCH
Auxiliary Luncheon. 

Also, Tracy Flood, University of Illinois (U of I), medical doctor; Tiffany Fruth, NIU, BSN; Julia Gommel, NIU, Master of Public Health; Marc Gorsky, University of Iowa, pharmacy; Kelly Greene, NIU, BSN; Christine Hadley, KC, Radiological Technology; Joyal, Lori, KC, Registered Nurse (RN).

Also, Janna Kim, U of I, medical doctor; Jennifer Krause, University of Iowa, pharmacy; Laura Lacefield, KC, Radiological Technologist; Jennifer Lavoie, KC, RN ; Megan McDonald, Walsh University, BSN; Vic Mohammad, NIU, BSN; Melinda Norwood, KC, RN; Kelly Shugrue, KC, Radiological Technology; Elizabeth Stephenson, NIU, physical therapy; Jami Van Cleve, Aurora University, BSN; Russell Verbic, University of Illinois at Chicago, dentistry; Faye Harris, NIU, clinical science.

Proceeds from the annual ball were used this year to fund the scholarships. Scholarship applications for next year will be available in January 2007.

Footer Curve