Skip to Content

Published on May 24, 2012

Kish Hospital Auxiliary Honors Volunteer with First Connie Bressler Spirit Award

May 24, 2012 

Kish Hospital volunteers were honored at the Auxiliary’s Volunteer Appreciation Dinner.

Kish Hospital volunteers were
honored at the Auxiliary’s
Volunteer Appreciation Dinner.
Nominees for the Connie
Bressler Spirit Award included
volunteers (from left to right)
Marian Baars, Norm Gilbert,
Daisette McGrath, Mina Johnson,
and Eileen Dettman (front). 

Congratulations to Eileen Dettman, volunteer in Kishwaukee Community Hospital’s Human Resources Department, who has won the first Connie Bressler Spirit Award. Dettman has volunteered at the hospital for 11 years, which translates to over 5,000 hours of dedicated service. Paula von Ende, director of Volunteer Services said, “Eileen’s determination sets a wonderful example for those around her.” Dettman was a dear friend of the award’s namesake.

The award, named in honor of Connie Bressler, who passed away in 2010, is given to a Kish Hospital volunteer who best exemplifies the spirit of serving others. Connie Bressler volunteered at Kish Hospital in the Marketing Department and at the front desk assisting visitors and patients from 2003-2007. In these roles, she came to know many of the volunteers and staff. She lived with multiple sclerosis for all of her adult life, diagnosed when she was a teenager.

Those who knew Connie realized that she had MS, but it did not define her; she was positive and upbeat in the face of serious illness. Connie always had a smile on her face and a cheerful greeting for everyone. With the presentation of this award each year, the Auxiliary would like to recognize volunteers who are carrying on her spirit at Kish Hospital.

A nominee for the award must have been a volunteer at Kish Hospital for at least one year and have 500 or more hours of service time and should be actively volunteering at the hospital at the time of the nomination. Nominations are submitted by other volunteers and a Kish staff members. The award winner is selected by a three-member committee and presented at the annual Volunteer Week Dinner.

Footer Curve